Daily Archives: October 2, 2008

Resource – Findagrave.com

Findagrave.com has got to be one of best resources for finding burial/cemetery information. When I first joined the site (over three years ago), information was spotty for the area of Pennsylvania where I research. That isn’t the case anymore! There are several very active contributors in southeastern PA. New memorials are constantly being added. If you search the site and don’t find what you are looking for, go back and try again in a couple of weeks. You may be pleasantly surprised. I know that I personally have quite a backlog of information to enter and have been trying to work on it as time permits.

When I visit an area cemetery, particularly small and medium-sized ones, I tend to walk through the entire cemetery, looking for tombstones with surnames I recognize. I get pictures of those tombstones and sometimes the surrounding ones because often times family members tend to be buried close by. When I get back home, I load the pictures on my computer and go through them, looking to see if I have the people in my database. Since it’s necessary to crop and resize the pictures before uploading them to findagrave, I must admit that I don’t always get to that in a timely manner.

With a few exceptions, I mostly add memorials for people who are in my database. This means that I can sometimes add more specific information. For example, if the tombstone only has the year of birth and death, I may have the month and day from other sources, so I can add that in. I also try to identify the parents and spouse(s), as well as uploading the tombstone photo. Typically I haven’t added much additional biographical information, but I am thinking I may try to do better in that area.

I have recently started using the FastStone Image Editor/Viewer for cropping and batch resizing of the tombstone images that I upload. I will write more about that in another post.