7 Generation Family Tree

I am always looking for creative ways to share and display my family history research. Some of my favorites are scrapbook pages, photo books and ancestor photo jewelry. Last summer I was really inspired by the ornate Bechtel Family tree created by Franklin Bechtel Gilbert in the 1860s. (See blog post.) It was at that point that I knew I wanted to create a piece of family tree artwork for my family room wall.

Drawing on inspiration from the Bechtel tree as well as some of the beautiful family trees posted on pinterest, I designed a 6 generation tree in photoshop on a 20×16 canvas. I had it printed and framed and could not be more pleased. My Mom liked it so much that she wanted one as well. The one pictured below is hers. It is similar to mine except that hers is 7 generations. (The extra generation is for her grandchildren.) The ancestor names themselves are the branches.  My Mom and Dad are the represented by the tree trunk and their children and grandchildren are at the base. (Recent generations are blurred for privacy.)

family-tree-web

I was so pleased with how these came out that I had to share. My next project is to create ancestor photo collages to hang on either side of the family tree. My family room is becoming my genealogy room!

Leave a Reply

